EC12 2011 Thunder mug

The final event on the EC12 New England Cup Circuit was held October 15th and 16th at Venuitis pond in Killingworth. CT. It is one of our favorite spots with stadium type visibility and a number of course options. It has been a great fall event and a excellent conclusion to the sailing season in New England. Fall foliage and crisper temperatures may lull you into a sense of peace but more than our share of big air has greeted this event.

Day 1 had winds in excess of 25kts at times with lulls in the high teens. It was full on survival mode for most and as the day wore on, the breeze simply got stronger. C rigs were the order of the day but alas, no one had one. Bent rigs, holed decks and burned out servos kept the fleet busy. Most Skippers spent their 5 minuet holds before lunch.

With the all the mayhem, the cream still rose to the top. After 9 races and one throw out, Bruce Walton, sailing 633 which is a 30 year old Reynolds hull, won the day by posting consistent bullets while the rest of the fleet suffered.

All 6 boats returned to day 2 after a long night of repair work. Not much went without damage including a broken radio board. The breeze was up again as things got rolling and most returned to their B rigs. Bruce Walton resumed his domination with four bullets in a row while Dion and Luscomb duked it out for 2nd. The balance of the fleet fought for what remained.

I had an opportunity to sail an older design similar to what Bruce Walton is sailing and I have a hole new respect for him and what it takes to keep one of these narrow keel boats upright in a blow let alone win race after race. Amazing.

After completing 21 races in a moderating breeze, the final scores with 3 throw outs looked like this.

- 1 Bruce Walton 24pts
- 2 Chuck Luscomb 35.25pts
- 3 Al Dion 44pts
- 4 Tim Stone 76pts
- 5 Ken Koehler 91pts
- 6 Bill Dempsey 92pts

With his third place finish, Al Dion was able to retain his lead in the New England Cup standings and was presented with the Trophy. Behind Al by ten points was Chuck Luscomb, followed by David Brawner and Bruce Walton and Jake Leo.